15591078_10154850286127053_3057035871590678691_o

Most Sundays you can find me supervising the local landfill. I say supervising which is technically true but really I’m more like the assistant-fill-in-supervisor that ends up doing the majority of the days allotted to the Sunday supervisor anyway, because technically speaking, I’m not fully trained for the position. But all that aside.

Yesterday while fulfilling my weekly sojourn to the land of the stinky I caught this gorgeous bird perched up by the dumping area, and she (for the sake of requiring a gendered pronoun – sorry Mr/Miss Eagle) let me approach quite close to take a few pictures (just a shame I didn’t have a better camera on me).

And just behind her near the edge of the hill was another adult, which spooked and took off a lot more quickly.

Eagles aren’t unusual at the landfill, but this is the first I’ve seen so close, and yesterday there seemed to be a particularly larger number of them hanging around – maybe they’re settling down for the winter. Everywhere you look there are eagles. And there are also crows and ravens.

But it got me thinking about something. How often have you heard the eagle used for analogies and symbols? How many people have you heard talk about how eagles get up high in the sky and just rest soaring on the updrafts? How many people have suggested to you that life should be lived like an eagle?

But how many of you feel like this young eagle stuck in the trash–maybe your whole family hangs out here–and you haven’t realized your identity or your potential as an eagle because all the other birds on your block are crows? I asked a friend once something along the lines of, What if I don’t want to be an eagle? What if I’m not cut out for soaring from the heights? Maybe your circumstances are bad, maybe you’ve struggled through everything life had to offer you. But right now you are majesty in the garbage dump.

I want to tell you there’s more, young eagle. There’s more than garbage and cawing and seeing the world from the ground, because whether you know it or not you are an eagle, and eagles were made to soar. You’ll see a lot more from up above, all you have to do is let your wings take you there.

And so I did.

And I’m learning that bad things happening to good people can be the best things to happen to good people because when you are given more than you can handle you have the opportunity to see the end of yourself and know the need for Father. But He didn’t create you for the garbage dump, and if you allow the bad things to be the gateway to the revelation of the fullness of His glory instead of blaming him for letting them happen to you, you’ll find your identity in Father–‘Christ in me, the hope of glory’  [Colossians 1:27] and He will take you to the heights He created you for.

But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. – Isaiah 40:31

One thought on “Majesty in the Garbage Dump

Leave a Reply

