There’s a song that I just love called Your Love Is a Song by the illustrious Switchfoot and I got to realizing the other night that it’s probably my favorite song ever. Why, do you ask? You have to hear it first.

I hear you breathing in / Another day begins
The stars are falling out / My dreams are fading now, fading out

I’ve been keeping my eyes wide open
I’ve been keeping my eyes wide open

Oh Your love is a symphony / All around me / Running through me
Oh Your love is a melody / Underneath me / Running to me
Oh, your love is a song

The dawn is fire bright / Against the city lights
The clouds are glowing now / The moon is blacking out, is blacking out

So I’ve been keeping my mind wide open
I’ve been keeping my mind wide open, yeah

Oh Your love is a symphony / All around me / Running through me
Oh Your love is a melody / Underneath me / 
Running to me

Oh, your love is a song / Your love is a song
Oh, your love is a song / Your love is strong

With my eyes wide open
I’ve got my eyes wide open
I’ve been keeping my hopes unbroken, yeah

Oh Your love is a symphony / All around me / Running through me
Oh Your love is a melody / Underneath me / Running to me

Your love is a song
Yeah, yeah
Your love is my remedy
Oh your love is a song

But wait a minute, you can’t hear words.

Well actually, that’s the point. Because see, I’ve spent so much of my life basing my worth and my purpose on doing – more to the point I’ve spent most of my life trying to achieve or do God’s love when…it’s never been like that. I’m realizing more and more (and finally that veil tore right down the middle for me the other night to see) that his love is something for me to experience, be surrounded by and immersed in – something for me to feel the frequencies of rippling through me – his love is a song.

And we can be sure that we know him if we obey his commandments.If someone claims, “I know God,” but doesn’t obey God’s commandments, that person is a liar and is not living in the truth. But those who obey God’s word truly show how completely they love him. That is how we know we are living in him. Those who say they live in God should live their lives as Jesus did.

Dear friends, I am not writing a new commandment for you; rather it is an old one you have had from the very beginning. This old commandment—to love one another—is the same message you heard before. Yet it is also new. Jesus lived the truth of this commandment, and you also are living it. For the darkness is disappearing, and the true light is already shining.

If anyone claims, “I am living in the light,” but hates a fellow believer,[a] that person is still living in darkness. 10 Anyone who loves a fellow believer[b] is living in the light and does not cause others to stumble.11 But anyone who hates a fellow believer is still living and walking in darkness. Such a person does not know the way to go, having been blinded by the darkness. 

– 1 John 2:3-11

Yes, visible love in me is a sign to the rest of the world that Christ lives in me – but I don’t love to get Christ in me, I love because he already is. When love is no longer merely a thing I must do as a sign of my inherent goodness, I become free to experience the Father’s love like nothing before; I become free to experience the song of God’s heart for me, the symphony of his love. And maybe – just maybe – even though I don’t know all the words yet, I might just sing along, because it’s impossible not to want to join in when you hear it out loud; there is nothing else like that melody.

See how very much our Father loves us, for he calls us his children, and that is what we are! But the people who belong to this world don’t recognize that we are God’s children because they don’t know him.Dear friends, we are already God’s children, but he has not yet shown us what we will be like when Christ appears. But we do know that we will be like him, for we will see him as he really is. And all who have this eager expectation will keep themselves pure, just as he is pure. – 1 John 3:1-3

The NIV says, See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! Oh, Your love is a song…

P.S.: If you still wanted to hear the song…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Px0EXdyPkA0

Leave a Reply

